Gold Medal Award

AAG Gold Medal Logo


The Association of Applied Geochemists inaugurated the Gold Medal to be awarded to a person for outstanding scientific achievement in exploration geochemistry. The medal was minted from two troy ounces of silver bullion and will be engraved with the name of the recipient and the year of the award. It is presented to deserving AAG members by the Chairperson of the Awards and Medals Committee at AAG’s International Applied Geochemistry Symposia.



2023: Renguang Zuo

2022: Robert G. Garrett

2021: W.K. Fletcher

2020: Quiming Cheng

2019: Benedetto De Vivo

2017: Stu Averill

2016: Reijo Salminen

2015: Ravi Anand

2014: Colin Dunn

2013: Clemens Reimann & Eric Hoffman

2011: Eion Cameron

2009: Gerry Govett

2007: Xie Xuejing

2005: Gwendy Hall

1999: R.W. Boyle 

1995: Charles Butt & Ray Smith